Since 2006, Rock the Earth has presented an annual Planet Defender award in three categories to inspirational defenders who uphold the ideals that Rock the Earth believes in. In 2015, RtE recognized Xavier Rudd in the “Musician” category, L. Hunter Lovins (Natural Capital Solutions) in the “Community Leader” category, and Tim DeChristopher (Bidder 70) in the “Grassroots Activist” category. These winners were chosen from among dozens of nominations made by Rock the Earth members and friends.

This year, we’re doing something different. We are once again asking for nominations of those individuals who embody Rock the Earth’s mission of Defending the Planet One Beat at a Time. Rock the Earth’s Board will narrow those nominations down to the finalists and then the public will get the chance to vote on and select the 2016 winners!

So keep an eye out for those folks who you feel are helping to protect our planet’s most precious places, and nominate them for the prestigious Planet Defender Award. Send your nominations to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it . Winners will be announced on Earth Day, April 22, 2016.